Promised Land

The Promised Land Series covers the books in the Bible from Exodus to Judges. These books describe events from the birth of Moses to the end of the era of the judges of Israel.

In Genesis, God promised Abraham that his descendants would inherit the land of Canaan, so Canaan became known as The Promised Land. Modern Israel and Palestine encompass the majority of Canaan.

Abraham’s grandson was Jacob, whose name was changed to “Israel” by God. His descendants became known as the Hebrews or Israelites. During the later life of Jacob, the Hebrews moved to Egypt during a famine. The book of Exodus opens about four centuries later with the Hebrews still in Egypt, having become slaves of the Pharaoh.

The book of Exodus is primarily about Moses leading the Hebrews out of Egypt and into the wilderness, their covenant with God, and the construction of the Tabernacle.

Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy tell of the Hebrews wandering in the wilderness, the laws given to the Hebrews by God, and their adventures on the way to the Promised Land. These books end with the Israelites poised to enter the Promised Land, and the death of Moses.


The World Changes

The Israelites leave Egypt, cross the Red Sea, travel through the desert without water, start receiving manna and quail, and arrive at Sinai. How long does that take? Only two months!  Apparently, God thinks that is long enough for the Israelites to be ready to become his people…or God wants to show them that they are far from ready.

It is not much of an overstatement to say that Exodus 19:5-8 sets the stage for the rest of the Old Testament. God says that if the Israelites obey him completely and keep his covenant that they will be his treasured possession. The people agree to do everything the Lord said.

Moses goes to the mountain and meets with God. In a long process of consecration and revelation, God ends up giving his all laws and revelations to Moses, including the Ten Commandments. The people and the elders agree to all of God’s conditions again, and Moses goes back on the mountain for forty days. At the end of that time, God sends Moses down from the mountain carrying two tablets of stone on which the Ten Commandments were written by the very finger of God.

Primary Scriptures:
Exodus 19-24, 32-34
Story Summary:
Mount Sinai, the golden calf, the tablets of stone
Mount Sinai
c. 1526 BC Birth of Moses c. 1446 BC The plagues and exodus c. 1445 BC. The Ten Commandments