Promised Land

The Promised Land Series covers the books in the Bible from Exodus to Judges. These books describe events from the birth of Moses to the end of the era of the judges of Israel.

In Genesis, God promised Abraham that his descendants would inherit the land of Canaan, so Canaan became known as The Promised Land. Modern Israel and Palestine encompass the majority of Canaan.

Abraham’s grandson was Jacob, whose name was changed to “Israel” by God. His descendants became known as the Hebrews or Israelites. During the later life of Jacob, the Hebrews moved to Egypt during a famine. The book of Exodus opens about four centuries later with the Hebrews still in Egypt, having become slaves of the Pharaoh.

The book of Exodus is primarily about Moses leading the Hebrews out of Egypt and into the wilderness, their covenant with God, and the construction of the Tabernacle.

Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy tell of the Hebrews wandering in the wilderness, the laws given to the Hebrews by God, and their adventures on the way to the Promised Land. These books end with the Israelites poised to enter the Promised Land, and the death of Moses.


The Lord is in His Holy Temple

About one-third of the book of Exodus features incredibly detailed instructions about the Tabernacle and its worship services. God intended for his house of worship to be perfectly designed and made for many years of service in the desert.

Keep in mind that the instructions for the Tabernacle were given before the Israelites behaved in such a way that God made them wander in the desert for forty years! Perhaps if the Israelites had made better choices, the Tabernacle would have been their place of worship in Canaan instead of the desert.

The Bible records a fascinating level of detail that God gives about the Tabernacle. He was clearly not going to settle for anything less than perfect. Still, there was so much more to specify that he specially gifted people to be craftsmen so he could instill in them the exact knowledge they needed.


Primary Scriptures:
Exodus 25-31, 35-40
Story Summary:
The tabernacle, its furnishings, and its worship order; priestly garments
Mount Sinai
c. 1526 BC Birth of Moses c. 1446 BC The plagues and exodus c. 1445 BC. The Ten Commandments