Promised Land

The Promised Land Series covers the books in the Bible from Exodus to Judges. These books describe events from the birth of Moses to the end of the era of the judges of Israel.

In Genesis, God promised Abraham that his descendants would inherit the land of Canaan, so Canaan became known as The Promised Land. Modern Israel and Palestine encompass the majority of Canaan.

Abraham’s grandson was Jacob, whose name was changed to “Israel” by God. His descendants became known as the Hebrews or Israelites. During the later life of Jacob, the Hebrews moved to Egypt during a famine. The book of Exodus opens about four centuries later with the Hebrews still in Egypt, having become slaves of the Pharaoh.

The book of Exodus is primarily about Moses leading the Hebrews out of Egypt and into the wilderness, their covenant with God, and the construction of the Tabernacle.

Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy tell of the Hebrews wandering in the wilderness, the laws given to the Hebrews by God, and their adventures on the way to the Promised Land. These books end with the Israelites poised to enter the Promised Land, and the death of Moses.



Except for chapters 8-10, Leviticus primarily consists of God’s instructions to Moses about how the Israelites and their priests should conduct themselves in worship activities. It seems that the bulk of these instructions were given in the 1-2 months after the completion of the Tabernacle but before the Israelites’ departure from Sinai.

Although the instructions given to the Israelites are no longer directly relevant to Christians today, there are many lessons to be inferred. God wants to live among his people, and provides a way to do that. God insists that he is worshipped in the manner he desires, not in the manner his people choose. God wants his people to be set apart and to be identified as his people.

As you read through the multitudes of instructions in these chapters, you will no doubt become thankful that your relationship with God does not depend on minutely keeping these hundreds of instructions.

Primary Scriptures:
Story Summary:
Offerings and regulations
Mount Sinai
c. 1526 BC Birth of Moses c. 1446 BC The plagues and exodus c. 1445 BC. The Ten Commandments