Promised Land

The Promised Land Series covers the books in the Bible from Exodus to Judges. These books describe events from the birth of Moses to the end of the era of the judges of Israel.

In Genesis, God promised Abraham that his descendants would inherit the land of Canaan, so Canaan became known as The Promised Land. Modern Israel and Palestine encompass the majority of Canaan.

Abraham’s grandson was Jacob, whose name was changed to “Israel” by God. His descendants became known as the Hebrews or Israelites. During the later life of Jacob, the Hebrews moved to Egypt during a famine. The book of Exodus opens about four centuries later with the Hebrews still in Egypt, having become slaves of the Pharaoh.

The book of Exodus is primarily about Moses leading the Hebrews out of Egypt and into the wilderness, their covenant with God, and the construction of the Tabernacle.

Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy tell of the Hebrews wandering in the wilderness, the laws given to the Hebrews by God, and their adventures on the way to the Promised Land. These books end with the Israelites poised to enter the Promised Land, and the death of Moses.


Standing on the Promises

God promised the Israelites he would lead them to conquer all of the land he’d given to Abraham and Moses. He promised to give them unbelievable prosperity in the land forever and ever. God made many promises to the Israelites, but almost all of them were conditional.

In order to fulfill the conditions of God, the Israelites had to do such things as conquer the land completely, drive out or kill all of the land’s inhabitants, and follow the laws of Moses. And they had to do these things consistently, completely, and wholeheartedly. But no sooner had they conquered Jericho than they started breaking God’s conditions.

Judges 2 begins with a stark call to reality. The angel of the Lord spoke to all of the Israelites and pointed out their failings, and told them that the Canaanites remaining in the land will be deadly traps to the Israelites, because the Israelites would eventually worship their false gods. The Israelites wept and worshipped, but did not deny their fate.

King Solomon
Primary Scriptures:
Judges 2
Story Summary:
Joshua and the Israelites conquer most of Canaan
c. 1406 BC The Israelites enter Canaan c. 1209-1169 BC The rule of Deborah c. 1075-1055 BC The rule of Samson